What’s new this week: part 1b – highlights

Heartbeat and a Guitar: Johnny Cash and the making of Bitter Tears covers the story of Mr. Cash making his album meant to further the voices of Native people in the US.  1964, and someone as famous as Johnny Cash could make the American Indian Movement known to a wider audience, and wider audiences were ready to hear it.

The title track is called “The Ballad of Ira Hayes”.  It tells the sad, sad story of Ira, who was from the Pima nation in Arizona.  He lived his life on the reservation and then joined the military during WWII.  He was sent to the Pacific arena and was immortalized in that photo of the dudes raising that flag.  You know the one.  Ira is the one who is furthest on the outside, both literally and figuratively.  After the war he returned to the reservation in Arizona and was arrested over 50 times for public intoxication.  He died under mysterious circumstances at the age of 33, officially of exposure to the elements and alcohol poisoning.  Fucking fuck, what this society does to Native people!  I’m no journalist, or sociologist, or even an essayist – I can’t write a good article about how a person of color is let down over and over again by systems of oppression, including the fucking military.  But, I do believe in the power of a song.  Here is Johnny Cash spreading the good word with a good melody:

And for some music candy, Youtube led me to this great rendition:

Which then let me to this.  Equally good rendition, though a wildly different interpretation:

About Growler Distro

Growler Distro, or Growler Record Store, are the same thing: a project aimed at selling records, tapes, CDs, CDRs, zines, books, and cool handmade trinkets in Denver, CO, which I'm proud to say is my home. My name is Molly and I've been tabling at punk shows since 2006 and now I'm expanding to a brick and mortar shop at 742 Santa Fe Drive. (Days and hours TBA) I've always loved underground music for it's freshness and honesty and I want you to feel like you can discover a gem as well. I believe that music brings people together much like a well-prepared meal can. And, I think that underground music and literature often talk about the things in life most important to you, whether that be disenchantment with the state of things or a truly broken heart. I carry a lot of different styles of music, so don't limit yourself to one definition of what underground or punk might mean to you. Growler Record Store has music for quiet, contemplative rainy days, dance parties, and even for the apocalypse. I have music made by women, queers, people of color, and in many different languages. You will find your voice as expressed by talented musicians, just the way it was meant to be. And you will likely leave feeling inspired by and connected to your fellow humans. How to find me: growlerdistro@riseup.net and growlerdistro.tumblr.com
This entry was posted in Personal, Recommendations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment