Do you want to be a part of things?

If you read my About Page you’ll notice that I’m a pretty idealist business owner.  In fact, I don’t know how to describe Growler Distro without being overly wordy, verging on philosophical.  Seriously, you should read my business plan; I don’t think there’s a bank in the world that wants to.  But, given that I am an anarchist, I’m much less a profiteer and much more of a community organizer.   A girl may need to eat and pay rent, but she can still make decisions taking her dreams into consideration first.  Well, that’s how I got into this beautiful mess in the first place.

So, I’m looking for folks who want to make their mark on the record store and I have some options for you:

1. I need people to decorate busted/fucked up records and deliver them to the store by Sept. 1.  You can do anything you want with the record to make it your piece of art.  The plan is to hang the lot of them from the ceiling.  Kind of a new take on a classic record store decorating idea.

2. If you are a Colorado musician I will sell your demo/CDR/cassette/vinyl/download code on commission.  Guaranteed.  All you need to do is contact me and we’ll set it up.  I’ll pay you at the end of the month based on the sales.  Easy.  Open to all, however, I reserve the right to decline bands that have questionable politics.  Given that I’m an anarchist I want a space that is opening and welcome for all, and homophobia/sexism/racism/etc. do the exact opposite.

3. Do you, or do any of your friends, make cool crafty things?  Contact me, we’ll talk possibilities.  Clothes, pouches, zines, jewelry, silk screens ???????

Please email: growlerdistro@riseup.net

About Growler Distro

Growler Distro, or Growler Record Store, are the same thing: a project aimed at selling records, tapes, CDs, CDRs, zines, books, and cool handmade trinkets in Denver, CO, which I'm proud to say is my home. My name is Molly and I've been tabling at punk shows since 2006 and now I'm expanding to a brick and mortar shop at 742 Santa Fe Drive. (Days and hours TBA) I've always loved underground music for it's freshness and honesty and I want you to feel like you can discover a gem as well. I believe that music brings people together much like a well-prepared meal can. And, I think that underground music and literature often talk about the things in life most important to you, whether that be disenchantment with the state of things or a truly broken heart. I carry a lot of different styles of music, so don't limit yourself to one definition of what underground or punk might mean to you. Growler Record Store has music for quiet, contemplative rainy days, dance parties, and even for the apocalypse. I have music made by women, queers, people of color, and in many different languages. You will find your voice as expressed by talented musicians, just the way it was meant to be. And you will likely leave feeling inspired by and connected to your fellow humans. How to find me: growlerdistro@riseup.net and growlerdistro.tumblr.com
This entry was posted in Record Store and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

