A must-see show for Denver – Pierced [fucking] Arrows!

Pierced Arrows are coming to Denver this Tuesday (10/19) for the third time in two years.  At least that I know of, and I’ve been to all three, or at least I plan to be.  Rarely do I highly praise a band’s live show, because there has to be a small number of those in the highest rating.  This band is amongst those few and that’s why I’m committed to a date with them this Tuesday.  It’s worth mentioning, that at their age, I always wonder if it’s the last time I’ll get the chance.

Before Pierced Arrows there was Dead Moon for 20 some years.  That was Fred and Toody, happily married with children, making music.  Before Dead Moon was a slew of projects fronted by Fred dating back to the late 60’s.  Fred is a rock n’ roll man who was a contemporary of The Bryds.  Think about it.

A documentary was made of Dead Moon called “Unknown Passage”.  This trailer should give you just a taste of what they are about.

I like Pierced Arrows because I like their story.  They are a living, punk-rock, rom-com.  Over 60 and still rocking out totally DIY.  They wear the same fucking cowboy shirts every time they play.  They play long sets and you wonder how grandma and grandpa have more stamina than you while still smoking and drinking whiskey just like you.  They give you some hope that if you just keep cranking out songs and pressing your own records that it will be rewarding in itself – once you’re over 60 and can appreciate a life’s hard work.   It is a reminder to me that I shouldn’t worry about whether or not I have a show booked or how many people come.  Oh, and they make me believe in romantic love too.  I can be punk and make a family with a totally cool dude.

And furthermore, they write great songs.  Ageless songs.

About Growler Distro

Growler Distro, or Growler Record Store, are the same thing: a project aimed at selling records, tapes, CDs, CDRs, zines, books, and cool handmade trinkets in Denver, CO, which I'm proud to say is my home. My name is Molly and I've been tabling at punk shows since 2006 and now I'm expanding to a brick and mortar shop at 742 Santa Fe Drive. (Days and hours TBA) I've always loved underground music for it's freshness and honesty and I want you to feel like you can discover a gem as well. I believe that music brings people together much like a well-prepared meal can. And, I think that underground music and literature often talk about the things in life most important to you, whether that be disenchantment with the state of things or a truly broken heart. I carry a lot of different styles of music, so don't limit yourself to one definition of what underground or punk might mean to you. Growler Record Store has music for quiet, contemplative rainy days, dance parties, and even for the apocalypse. I have music made by women, queers, people of color, and in many different languages. You will find your voice as expressed by talented musicians, just the way it was meant to be. And you will likely leave feeling inspired by and connected to your fellow humans. How to find me: growlerdistro@riseup.net and growlerdistro.tumblr.com
This entry was posted in Upcoming Shows and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

