a few updates

… and quick ones at that.

I moved the distro out of the Blast-o-mat record store as it will be shutting down in another month or two.  The record store, not the venue.  I went to a B-mat spokescouncil some weeks ago and folks are wanting to take the space in slightly different directions.  There is talk of figuring out a way to get a legal liquor license and there are a few different ways of doing this including getting an art gallery license.  I wasn’t taking good notes, but the gist was that the record store, as a separate money making enterprise, would restrict the application for this license.  Other factors went into my choice to reclaim the distro from B-mat.  Over the summer I felt that I was the only one buying new records for the store.  I neither have the time right now, nor the inclination to take on the burden of fully stocking a record store.  Although, the idea of it sounds fun I am not at a place personally to be able to be dependable with keeping hours, or researching music/placing orders/doing the books.  And, after a decade of grassroots organizing I’ve learned not to take on projects I can’t competently carry out.  It stresses me out and fractures my community.  I am also reluctant to make sudden changes in the way Growler is done.  I began the project with a specific mission – to promote DIY music/art/writing made by folks who often get ignored, even in the punk scene, because they aren’t white bio-boys.  In order to stock a commercial record store I would have to carry a little of everything and I wonder if that would result in all those women-centered, queer-centered, poc-centered, projects I now seek out, being lost in the stacks.  One of the things I dislike about record stores is that everything just gets filed alphabetically, instead of what Growler does, which is to highlight a small amount of carefully selected good shit.

So, the entire Growler collection is now consolidated back in my bedroom.  Collecting dust at the moment, my goal is to table more often, including at Blast-o-mat.  At the B-mat spokes we all liked the idea of having what is now the art gallery ironically close for the reasons mentioned above, and for that space to be dedicated to tabling for bands and distros.  This area gets a lot of traffic and has the advantage of good lighting and heat during the winter months.  There are, of course, a smattering of other DIY venues to table at, and the possibility of setting up shop at the bar shows, although that ups the risk of beer being spilled on the records.

Anyways, as I’ve mentioned before, I like tabling.

In other news, I’m still interested in putting together a regular radio show/podcast.   Amongst the fact that Growler has been de-prioritized lately while I’ve been working on other projects, namely making my own music and trying to sell poetry, I don’t have internet at home.  I just haven’t wanted to work during library hours, preferring instead the midnight hours, and I hate spending money at coffee shops just to surf the net.  So, I haven’t even gotten as far as figuring out how to upload the one podcast I’ve made so far.

I would gladly welcome anyone who wants to just show me how to do it – you would be a great time-saver.

That’s about it from the Growler front for now.  My musical project Sybil Vane has played 3 shows recently with my new pianist.  It’s thrilling to get back into it after a year long hiatus and lack of band to play with.  Look for us around Denver.

Cheers,

Molly

About Growler Distro

Growler Distro, or Growler Record Store, are the same thing: a project aimed at selling records, tapes, CDs, CDRs, zines, books, and cool handmade trinkets in Denver, CO, which I'm proud to say is my home. My name is Molly and I've been tabling at punk shows since 2006 and now I'm expanding to a brick and mortar shop at 742 Santa Fe Drive. (Days and hours TBA) I've always loved underground music for it's freshness and honesty and I want you to feel like you can discover a gem as well. I believe that music brings people together much like a well-prepared meal can. And, I think that underground music and literature often talk about the things in life most important to you, whether that be disenchantment with the state of things or a truly broken heart. I carry a lot of different styles of music, so don't limit yourself to one definition of what underground or punk might mean to you. Growler Record Store has music for quiet, contemplative rainy days, dance parties, and even for the apocalypse. I have music made by women, queers, people of color, and in many different languages. You will find your voice as expressed by talented musicians, just the way it was meant to be. And you will likely leave feeling inspired by and connected to your fellow humans. How to find me: growlerdistro@riseup.net and growlerdistro.tumblr.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

